Video of “hypnic jerk” performed by Arraymusic.

IMG_0632Arraymusic, as I mentioned previously, premièred an Ontario Arts Council-commissioned work of mine on February 15th entitled hypnic jerk. And I was so pleased to have such a sensitive and intelligent ensemble interpret my work.

Just to once again to credit the cast of players — Rick Sacks – conductor; Stephen Clarke – piano; Colleen Cooke – clarinet; Blair Mackay – percussion; Anita McAllister – trumpet; Lydia Munchinsky – cello; James Pugliese – percussion; Adam Scime – double bass; Rebecca Van Der Post – violin.

And the video’s below.  Please be sure to check out Arraymusic’s Youtube channel to see the remaining three (and absolutely stellar) pieces from the bill: Christopher Butterfield’s Frame (featuring a wild drum written for the ensemble’s special guest that evening, Jim Pugliese), Jan Bas Bollen’s Square Time and Daniel Foley’s Dominant Violet.


About Nick Storring

Nick Storring is a Toronto based composer, cellist and electronic musician with a wide palette of interests. Awarded the Canadian Music Centre's 2011 Emerging Composer Award, his broken-violin-based electronic piece Artifacts (I) also won first place in the 2008 Jeux de Temps/ Times Play competition for emerging Canadian electroacoustic composers. His chamber music has been performed by the Quatuor Bozzini, Arraymusic, the Madawaska String Quartet, the Esprit Orchestra, and Thin Edge New Music Collective. He also regularly creates incidental music for theatre, film and intermedia projects, including for the MT Space's Last 15 Seconds which toured through Canada and the Middle East, ambient gaming installation "Tentacles" which was presented at MoMA in 2011, and Ingrid Veninger's feature film "The Animal Project" an official selection at the 2013 Toronto International Film Festival. Apart from making regular solo appearances, he also plays in Picastro (Polyvinyl Records), I Have Eaten The City and improvising cello duo The Knot with Tilman Lewis. He has collaborated live and in the studio with Nadja, Sandro Perri, Daniel Johnston, Araz Salek, Laura Barrett, Rhys Chatham, Wyrd Visions, Andrew Timar, Castlemusic, Eddie Prevost, Diane Labrosse, and Damo Suzuki (of Can).
This entry was posted in Chamber music, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s